Deep thoughts from Jack Handy

Ok, the deep thoughts are actually from me! Shocker, I know. Well I am back in my room after a few drinks. That makes 2 nights in a row. But this time drinking solo because now I am in Granada and I have yet to make new friends. But I am happily buzzed. The only reason I may not come back with a beer belly is because I walk all day and chintz on food since things are expensive here. On the other hand, Thailand is next, which is CHEAP…

Anyway, on my 2 hour bus ride from Granada to Malaga, I had all these deep thoughts. Which will be followed by my more trivial thoughts!!

Well, here is the essence of my deep thoughts…I was thinking for some reason that both in tv/movies (we all know tv and movies are very important and relevant to real life) and in real life I always root for the underdog or the seemingly misplaced person or the one who is somehow neurotic. Maybe everyone does, but I think for me it’s because I somehow relate. Then I started thinking back to how I have been trying to leave corporate America forever. Or at least have a solid plan to do so. In fact, I can remember back to senior year at Barnard when I had the FDIC offer and the pwc offer. The FDIC work was related to economic research which I was so much more interested in. But the pwc offer just made more sense…more money, the dot com thing was big and the IT skills seemed like they would be important and more relevant…

Anyway, we all know how that story turned out. The point is, the signs and signals were there all along regarding what I really wanted to do, but I just ignored them to be a good Indian and follow the tried and true path that works for so many others. I was successful at it, but ultimately not happy and now I am back at square one. What if I had just taken the path I wanted to in the first place?? Who knows if things would have turned out differently. I guess the point is, now is that time to do the random shit I wanted to do all along! And I already started with my LOA. Good for me. That was a long time coming….only 3 years…

Anyway, onto my more trivial stories. I feel like I have become a better solo traveler. In Mexico it was the first place I went and I second guessed the whole LOA a lot. And I think I was lonely sometimes, though I met more people there than I have here. But Spain is great because everything WORKS and I can drink the tap water without fear of becoming deathly ill. And I am more than ok with my LOA now and ok traveling solo, too.

Great, now I can’t remember the rest of my trivial stories. Maybe it’s because my buzz is wearing off. I guess this means time to go to sleep.

Well, next time I will write about Malaga. And then Granada. I will post pics once I finally make it to an Internet cafe.

Leave a Reply

