Malaga recap

I originally didn’t spend the time writing about Malaga, because I wasn’t sure what to say about it. But after being in Granada, I now have thoughts about my time in Malaga. I know that makes no sense, but when has anything I have ever done made sense??

So I decided to stay in a place I found on AirBNB.com in Malaga. I was curious to try it, but also nervous. The idea of staying in a complete stranger’s house is scary. However, the fact that the other cheap hotels and hostels seemed to be full in Malaga forced my hand.

I arrived two hours later than planned and was worried because I had no good way to contact the lady I was staying with. Plus, she wasn’t even there but had made arrangements for me to pick up keys from the neighbor. However, everything went so smoothly that I was happy and impressed. Her directions on how to get there were also perfect.

I was alone the first night, but found the place spotless, roomy and well prepared. There was food in the kitchen for breakfast. My host, Tatiana, and her husband, John, stopped by the second night on their way back from the airport. They just wanted to check on me and were able to help me with questions I had.

In any case, I got to know Tatiana a bit better over the next few days. She was charming and helpful and gave me suggestions on things to do (try bocadillo) and place to go (the charming town of Mijas) and spent several hours with me to figure out bus and train schedules.

All in all, it was the best first experience I could hope for with AirBNB.

I also went to the beach of Malagueta, located in Malaga. It was actually a pretty decent beach for a place in a city. It was much hotter in Malaga than I expected, so swimming in the ocean felt great.

I spent a day in one if the “pueblos blancos” near Malaga called Mijas. Absolutely gorgeous town and made me think that it must be what Santorini is like. Located on a hill, facing the ocean, all white buildings…gorgeous.

The old town of Malaga is quite charming, too, with its windy streets an alleyways and how everyone is out so late. All in all, I enjoyed Malaga much more than I expected to.

For Granada, I decided to book a hostel since I was able to find availability in one with good reviews. However, after doing my sightseeing and coming back to my hostel at night, I wish I had booked an AirBNB place. As a solo traveler, you find more people to talk to and also get a local flavor of the place when staying with a on airbnb. The suggestions on where to go and what to do end up being better, too.

So my next stop is cordoba tomorrow. I booked another AirBNB place. I hope I like it as much as I did in Malaga!

Leave a Reply

