Cordoba

I made my way to Cordoba, following a suggested itinerary from the Lonely Planet. But soon after I got here, I realized I was tired or churches and mosques in Andalusia. So I have decided to skip Seville for now. Maybe I will do a day trip later, but that is tbd.

In Cordoba, the main thing to see here is the Mezquita, which is now a cathedral. The Mezquita was a mosque that was originally the most important site of the Moors’ territory. Interestingly, I found it far more impressive than the Alhambra in Granada. I suppose I have seen much more impressive Islamic architecture in India. But the Mezquita was quite unique in the architecture and the weird mixture of Renaissance and Islamic architecture.

In any case, Cordoba also has the winding, unplanned streets that were originally laid down by the Arabs. Both Malaga and Granada were similar in that sense.

For Cordoba I decided to try another AirBNB place. This time I am staying with an artist and her son. In typical artist style, their place is a bit cluttered. This annoyed me at first, but I have gotten over is because they are very kind and it feels like a home, which is nice. My first day here, she took me to a bar right below her apartment, which was totally laid back. They were having some kind of afternoon party there and made arroz con pollo. It was honestly sort of bland, but nice of them to share it, since they are friends with my host.

Today she took me to some kind of free African dance and drums thing. It was totally fun in a Hindu Heritage Summer Camp kind of way, which is to say, awesome. Everyone learned a bit of percussion and then we played together with a band leader/conductor dude leading. Kind of like the camp counselors and the campers!! Of course all the “camp counselors” are musicians, so they were cool and grungy and fun. I definitely felt like I was hanging out with the Cool Kids Club of Cordoba.

Last thing, Cordoba is effing hot. I had no idea. It must be going up to 90 degrees everyday. And my host, Carmen, said this is nice compared to the summer when it went over 100 degrees. Wow, I had no idea southern Spain gets so hot.

Leave a Reply

